Reminiscing

My friend Amanda posted a touching blog post the other day and I haven’t gotten it out of my head. She mentioned the significance of small groups in her life and I feel honored to have been a part of that significance. To be honest it was just as or even more significant for me. I started leading the group and I honestly wasn’t sure if I could do it…I didn’t know anything. All I knew is that there was a need and it was in my heart to fulfill it. I feel all “choked up” just typing this all out. [ I store up a lot feelings ] Every single one of the girls that attended my group were/are so special to me (Katch, Cristina, Amanda, Enamarie, Julie, Katie, Tammie, Sanah, Melanie, Bethany and the many more that came and went . I love you always.)

There was a night that we hosted a Thanksgiving Dinner for ourselves where we all brought food to the table at Julie’s and the girls surprised me with a very humbling gift, washing my feet. It sounds gross and incredibly embarrassing but it wasn’t. I wasn’t expecting it or anything so it definitely caught me off guard. It was a moment full of love and I’ll never forget it. I even remember Cristina making jokes (saying that Amanda go the pretty foot and she got stuck with the ugly one. haha It isn’t that ugly Cristina! lol <3 )Β  and it was funny and we all laughed…but it was truly a moment I will cherish forever.

“Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. Very truly I tell you, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them”

-John 13:14-17

Small groups are amazing. People don’t just say that to brag or anything, it’s really a great thing and essential to spiritual growth and fellowship. I hope for you to have the same experience that I had/have. We were the best group of girls you ever did see! I have such a great joy knowing that a lot of those girls are serving the Lord in church and in life. He has a plan and I love how its all turning out.

Leave some lovin'

