Back

I have returned from my Italy trip. I was out a whopping 18 days. That’s a crazy long time. Well, its the longest I’d ever been anywhere…without family. We (De La Cruz Collection Staff and NWSA students) traveled to Venice, Florence, San Gimignano, Siena, Pompeii, Capri and Rome. Each place was incredible. I mean, how can you go on such a trip and not think its mind blowing?!?!

Venice was all about the Biennale and the Arsennale! I loved seeing all the art the world had to offer. Crazy. Beautiful land[sea]scape, beautiful architecture, incredible contemporary art. Oh and some James Franco (saw him at Punta Della Dogana) !

Florence stole my heart. It was my favorite. I’m not entirely sure why, it just was. I loved everything about it. I had my moment in Florence when I saw the David by Michelangelo. I cried. It was really beautiful. I was honestly shocked with myself, because well…sculpture isn’t my thing and neither is the renaissance, but it moved me. Embarrassingly moved me. I couldn’t stop looking at it and at the same time I didn’t know what to do with myself. pfft.

Rome was insane! So many people and so much to see. The Vatican was jam packed!!! That was a bit of downer. We really couldn’t take our time to look at all the masterpieces around us because there were so many people!!! I think the new Pope has got Rome on some heavy tourism jank. We saw the Colosseum in rainy weather- which was a huge plus! Seeing that structure in that light was intense. Loved it!

We visited many churches, palazzos, museums,etc. Saw incredible, mind blowing art that I had always seen in textbooks. Seeing them in person was something I will never forget. We discussed and questioned everything we saw, just to be sure we knew what we were looking at. Discussion is healthy thing. I really enjoyed it…to a certain point. ha! After seeing so much art, you are left with no words or energy to stand-let alone discuss. So when Mark (a former prof at NWSA) asks questions about “beauty in art”, I just wanted to hide because I had nothing left in me. I experienced a feeling that made me want to just absorb and keep it to myself. Have internal discussion. That sounds crazy… but after a while your throat hurts and you feel terrible, so internal dialogue isn’t so cray anymore. ;)

The food. The food is to die for. Delicious. Wine- don’t even go there. I wish I lived in Italy for the food. I’d be so happy. On one of our last days in Rome- I had a life changing pizza. Pesto, zucchini and pine nuts.  I didn’t want it to end. GEEEZ!

There are so many stories and jokes but if I keep writing, I’ll probably lose you. ha! So here are some photos!

Venice

IMG_5021

IMG_5025

IMG_5031 IMG_5134

IMG_5066

IMG_5176

IMG_5196

IMG_5216

Florence

IMG_5362

IMG_5373

IMG_5380

IMG_5392

IMG_5394

IMG_5434

IMG_5508

IMG_5541

IMG_5642

IMG_5675

IMG_5694

Rome

IMG_6365

IMG_6084

IMG_5970

IMG_5734

IMG_6187

IMG_6022

IMG_6236

IMG_6273

I’ll stop here. this is long post!

huge thanks to my amazing Guest Bloggers! Thank you so much for all your help! <3

3 thoughts on “Back

  1. I’m insanely jealous….but so happy you had a great time. No one deserves it more :) g
    Glad you’re back and the pics of you in Florence are absolutely gorgeous. Well they are all gorgeous but those even more 😘

  2. Pingback: Steal Like An Artist by Austin Kleon |

Leave some lovin'

